Pushkar: Dancing Skies and Sorrows

I was told by a close friend of mine that all my pictures were starting to look the same. So, I decided to get out of my comfort zone a little this time.

Jitters:

  1. Pushkar is known for so many things, I wasn’t sure I could enjoy everything because of the heat wave.
  2. I was quite drained with all the field work so photography wasn’t a priority.
  3. I turned 24 during this trip which is so close to 25, an age I see as a milestone in life.
  4. I’ve become so silent these days with minimal contact with my family and friends I fear I’m losing track of myself, or how I used to be.
  5. The move to Jaipur, Rajasthan is finally dawning on me and the independence is starting to feel like loneliness.
  6. I didn’t want to smoke pot, something that Pushkar is famous for, because it has caused trouble for me in the past.
  7. I was travelling with people I’ve never traveled with before which presents a certain amount of nervousness in me.

I hope you enjoy the pictures, I’ve given them a lot of thought this time.

IMG_3762

We stayed at U-Turn, a great guest house, right at Vara Ghat with a small but airy rooftop cafe and brilliant coffee.

IMG_3856

I’ve been trying to give Minimalism a shot, as an aesthetic, not sure if I’m hitting the right spot yet, but seriously no one ever knows if they’re hitting the right spot (if you know what I mean).

IMG_3789

A friend of mine clicked this picture as I tried to peacefully turn 24 and think about my aspirations in life.

IMG_4038

Shiv and Parvati meeting at the edge of the wall and becoming one.

IMG_4079

It was the last day of the Brahmautsav (Brahma Festival) so at the Old Rangji Temple, Colleena Shakti and the Shakti Dance group had come to pay thier respects and to perform. It was a wonderful way to end the evening.

IMG_4116(2)

Formerly a belly dancer, Colleena Shakti has now dedicated her life to the Odissi Dance form for the past 8 years. Go on her website to know more. Also, she is a goddess while performing her art and a humble human otherwise.

IMG_3913

IMG_3955

A couple of pictures from the inside of the cafes. unfortunately I misplaced my battery charger (don’t worry, I found it on the last day lying under the bed pffft) so I don’t have pictures from a chunk of the time I spent in Pushkar but I am absolutely sure I will go back there so it isn’t a concern.

IMG_3945

One of the most magical sunsets I’ve experienced in my brief time on this planet.

IMG_3952

The picture above is unedited, fortunately I only took this one picture and it came out great (bird/colours). The rest of the time I was happily being human and enjoying the sky dance.

IMG_3963

If you’re ever in Pushkar, I would highly recommend Nirvana Cafe for food. Specially the Israeli dishes are on point. The Shaksuka was quite filling, after finishing this plate up and the beer (in the Despicable Me cup) I was almost snoozing on the chair for two hours before I was forced to move.

Leave a Reply

